3.en.9 Socializing: friends and social networks

Today many people use the Internet to create their network of friends. But, are netfriends real friends? Do they help us to break our social isolation?

Well, we might not have an answer, but at least we can give a thought. In order to help you create your own opinion watch the two videos below. The first is a song by James Taylor about what a friend is. The second is a short animation about social networks and being isolated.

A song by James Taylor: You’ve got a friend

After listening to the song try to complete the lyrics:

When you’re ……………………. and troubled and you need some loving care
and nothing, whoa, nothing is going right.
Close your eyes and think of me and soon I will be there to brighten up even your darkest ……………………..

You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or ……………………., all you have to do is call and I’ll be there, yeah, yeah,
you’ve got a friend.

If the sky ……………………. you should grow dark and full of clouds
and that old north wind should begin to blow,
keep your head ……………………. and call my name out loud.
Soon I will be ……………………. upon your door.
You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or ……………………., all you have to do is call and I’ll be there.

Tell me, ain’t it good to know that you’ve got a friend? People can be so ……………………..
They’ll hurt you and ……………………. you. Well, they’ll take your soul if you let them,
, but don’t you let them.

You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or ……………………., all you have to do is call, and I’ll be there, yeah, yeah,
you’ve got a friend. You’ve got a friend.
Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend? Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend?
Oh, yeah, yeah, you’ve got a friend.

Now complete the sentence:

amigos-dia_del_amigo-getty_MUJIMA20120716_0011_31-515x259

For me a friend is ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

A clip: The Innovation of Loneliness

Watch the video and say whether the following statements are True or False:

a) Monkeys can live in groups of any size.

b) Humans respond to group size similarly to monkeys.

c) The feeling of loneliness is unbearable for humans.

d) We build our identity on our job, money and friends.

e) The concept of friendship has not changed in the last decades.

f) The features of conversation are real time and uncontrolled content.

g) We use technology as a substitute for friends.

h) Even for users of social media their identity is based on what they are.

i) The feeling of loneliness is impossible to overcome.

Anuncis

Una resposta to “3.en.9 Socializing: friends and social networks”

  1. Graciela Reitan Says:

    Link exchange is nothing else except it is just placing the other
    person’s blog link on your page at appropriate place
    and other person will also do same in support of you.


Deixa un comentari

