2.en.42 If you were…, I would be… Sing along with conditional clauses

NOD YOUR HEAD, honey bee, flower, podbrideswayoceanwood,firenodwink, tree, moat, castle, rug, seed

If you were a seed, I’d be a pod

Well, by now you must know pretty well what the word seed means, probably you have learnt about them in Science lessons , but I’m not so sure you all know the meaning of “pod” even though some of you have got an I pod.

Let’s see if images help you guess the hidden words. We are going to listen to a song where all these words appear. In the song, there is a repeated  conditional structure

If I/you  was/were…  a…, You/I’d be a…

First let’s sing and guess the words, then, we’ll talk about grammar.

The song is from a film “Juno” and it is a love song. I hope you like it.

Look at the images and see if you match them with the words.Can you pair them?

honey bee, flower, podbrideswayoceanwoodfirenodwink, tree,moat, castle, rug, seed

Now  try to fill in the blanks in the lyrics of Barry Louis Polisar’s song “All I Want Is You” from the film JUNO. In the grids, the conditional clauses are jumbled, sort them out.

If I was a (1) _________ growing wild and free,

All I’d want is you to be my sweet honey bee.

And if I was (2)_________a growing tall and green,

All I’d want is you to shade me and be my leaves

All I want is you, will you be my(3) _________

Take me by the hand and stand by my(4) _________

All I want is you, will you stay with (5)_________?

Hold me in your arms and sway me like the(6)_________.

 

If you were a river in the mountains tall,

The rumble of your water would be my call.

If you were the winter, I know I’d be the snow

Just as long as you were with me, when the cold winds blow.

 

All I want is you, will you be my(3)_________

Take me by the hand and stand by my(4)_________

All I want is you, will you stay with(5) _________?

Hold me in your arms and sway me like the. (6)_________


 

a) If you were a wink,
  1. I know I’d be a hug
b) If you were a seed,
  1. I’d be a nod
c) If you were the floor,
  1. well I’d be a pod
d) And if you were a kiss,
  1. I’d wanna be the rug

All I want is you, will you be my (3)_________

Take me by the hand and stand by my(4)_________

All I want is you, will you stay with (5)_________?

Hold me in your arms and sway me like the. (6)_________


a) If you were the wood,
  1. I’d be your moat,
b)If you were the love,
  1. I’d be the fire
c) If you were a castle,
  1. I’d be the desire.
d) And if you were the ocean
  1. I’d learn to float.

All I want is you, will you be my(3)_________

Take me by the hand and stand by my(4)_________

All I want is you, will you stay with(5) _________?

Hold me in your arms and sway me like the.(6) _________

Now listen to the song and enjoy!

look at this cloud of words, do you understand all of them?

HOMEWORK:  Copy the lyrics in your notebook. Post your answers matching the conditional clauses to the blog. You must also post a comment on the pair you liked best and add some more you can think of. Let’s see if you are inspired.

Which conditional sentence did you like best? post it to the blog.

Anuncis
Arxivat a english. Etiquetes: , . 33 Comments »

33 Respostes to “2.en.42 If you were…, I would be… Sing along with conditional clauses”

  1. juliamulet Says:

    The pair that I prefer is:
    “And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.”
    My pair:
    “If you were the sun, I’d be the rays”.

    • juliamulet Says:

      Conditional clauses:
      If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
      If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
      If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
      And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

      If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
      If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
      If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
      And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

  2. marinaescarpa11 Says:

    1- If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    2- If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    3- If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    4- And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.
    5- If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    6- If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    7- If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    8- And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.
    The pair that I like the best:
    ·If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    ·If you were the ocean, I’d learnt to float.
    My invented sentences:
    ·If you were my leaf, I’d be my sap
    ·If you were my life, I’d be the heart.

  3. vidalandreu98 Says:

    Conditional clauses:
    1. If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    2. If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    3. If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    4. And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    5. If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    6. If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    7. If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    8. And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair→If you were a castle, I’d be your moat: I like because it have a high metaphoric meaning.
    My pair→ If you were a poem, I’d be your rhymes.

  4. jhazminmarmol Says:

    Conditional clauses:
    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair: If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    My pair: If you were the heart, I’d be your beats.

  5. silviamartinm Says:

    If you were a wink,I’d be a nod
    If you were a seed,well I’d be a pod
    If you were the floor,I’d wanna be the rug
    And if you were a kiss,I know I’d be a hug

    If you were the wood,I’d be the fire
    If you were the love,I’d be the desire
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat,
    And if you were the ocean,I’d learn to float

    My favourite pair is: If you were a kiss, Iknow I’d be a hug.
    My pair: If you were a song, I’d be the lyrics.

  6. merysantos1998 Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug,
    and if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat,
    and if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourites: If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    and if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.
    My pairs: If you were the freedom, I’d be your hippie.
    If you were the happiness, I’d be your smile
    If you were a child, I’d be your imagination
    If you were the end, I’d be your dot
    If you were the life, I’d be your eternity

  7. paulinguigs Says:

    a) If you were a wink,
    I’d be a nod
    b) If you were a seed,
    well I’d be a pod
    c) If you were the floor,
    I’d wanna be the rug
    d) And if you were a kiss,
    I know I’d be a hug

    a) If you were the wood,
    I’d be the fire
    b)If you were the love,
    I’d be the desire.
    c) If you were a castle,
    I’d be your moat,
    d) And if you were the ocean,
    I’d learn to float.

    The pair I liked most is: If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    My pair: If you were a baby, I’d be you teddy bear.

  8. tonitorner Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were the castle, I’d be your moat.
    If you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My conditionals:
    If you were a mountain, I’d be a climber.
    If you were a car, I’d be your gasoline.
    If you were a swimmingpool, I’d be a swimmer.
    If you were a beach, I’d be your sand.

  9. ariadnabalufo Says:

    Condicional clauses:
    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were the castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair is: If you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.
    My invented pair: If you were my lungs, I’d be your air.

  10. margaabauza Says:

    If you were a wink,I’d be a nod
    If you were a seed,well I’d be a pod
    If you were the floor,I’d wanna be the rug
    And if you were a kiss,I know I’d be a hug

    If you were the wood,I’d be the fire
    If you were the love,I’d be the desire
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat,
    And if you were the ocean,I’d learn to float

    My favourite pair is: If you were the sun, I’d be the rays
    My pair: If you were a baby, I’d be you teddy bear.

  11. izabelaigorova02 Says:

    *Conditional clausels:
    Conditional clauses:
    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float

    *My favourite pair: “If you were the love, I’d be the desire”
    My pair: If you were the music, I’d be the notes.

  12. tomasGD Says:

    1. If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    2. If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    3. If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    4. And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.
    5. If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    6. If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    7. If you were a castle, I’d be your moat
    8. And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair is:
    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My pair:
    If you were the palace, I’d wanna be the king.

  13. sergiomr226 Says:

    Condicional clauses:

    1) If you were a wink,I’d be a nod
    2) If you were a seed,well I’d be a pod
    3) If you were the floor,I’d wanna be the rug
    4) And if you were a kiss,I know I’d be a hug
    ——————————————————
    5) If you were the wood,I’d be the fire
    6) If you were the love,I’d be the desire
    7) If you were a castle, I’d be your moat,
    8) And if you were the ocean,I’d learn to float

    The pair that I like the best:
    – 8) And if you were the ocean,I’d learn to float.
    – 6) If you were the love,I’d be the desire.

    Another examples:
    – If I found her address, I would send her an invitation.
    – If he is busy now, I will come back tomorrow.

  14. claramulet Says:

    a) If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    b) If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod.
    c) If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    d) And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    a) If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    b) If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    c) If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    d) And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.
    My favourite pair: If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod.
    My pair: If you were a lamp, I’d be a bulb.

  15. jospomar Says:

    Conditional clauses
    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.
    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float
    My favourite one is: and if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

  16. isidelatorre Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    *My favourite pair: “If you were the love, I’d be the desire”
    My pair: If you were the music, I’d be the notes.

  17. vladis890 Says:

    Conditional clauses:
    1. If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    2. If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    3. If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    4. And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.
    5. If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    6. If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    7. If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    8. And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair is :
    1. If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    2. And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My pair:
    1. If you were a tree, I’d be the branches.

  18. martitaserra28 Says:

    Conditional clauses:
    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were the castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair is: If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    My pairs are:
    If you were the water, I’d be the fish.
    If you were the paper, I’d be the pencil.
    If you were the rainbow, I’d be the colours.

  19. andreafr98 Says:

    1.-If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    2.-If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod.
    3.-If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    4.-And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    5.-If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    6.-If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    7.-If you were the castle, I’d be your moat.
    8.-And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    *My favourite pair is: And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.
    *My pair is: If you were the rain, I’d be the umbrella.

  20. psocies Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were the castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair:
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My pair:
    If you were the night, I’d be the stars.

  21. miquelbv9 Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair:
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.

    My pair:
    If you were the library, I’d be the books.

  22. elenaa98 Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favorite pair: And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.
    My pairs:
    If you were America, I’d be Colombus.
    If you were a dress, I’d be your price tag.
    If you were imagination, I’d be a child.

  23. ariadnaoliver Says:

    a) If you were a wink, I’de be a nod
    b) If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod
    c) If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug
    d) And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug
    e) If you were the wood, I’d be the fire
    f) If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    g) If you were a castle, I’d be your moat,
    h) And if you were the ocean I’d learn to float.
    My favourite pair:
    – If you were the love, I’d be the desire
    My pairs:
    If you were the chips I’d be the fish
    If you were the shoe I’d be the sole
    If you were a headhone I’d be the music

  24. vidalsiquierj Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair is “And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.”
    That’s my pair: If you were a heart, I’d be its blood.

  25. eleojitos Says:

    Conditional clauses:
    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.
    *My favourite pair is: “if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug”.
    *My pair: if you were a musical instrument, I’d be its music

  26. Goran Dmitrov Avramov Says:

    If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.
    My favourite par is: “If you were the wood, I’d be the the fire”.
    My par: If you were the sky, I’d be the birds.

  27. noesanzu Says:

    Conditional clauses:
    1.-
    a) If you were a wink, I’d be a nod.
    b) If you were a seed, well I’d a pod.
    c) If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug.
    d) And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug.

    2.-
    a) If you were the wood, I’d be the fire.
    b) If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    c) If you were a castle, I’d be your moat.
    d) And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.

    Favourite pair: And if you were the ocean, I’d learn to float.
    Pair: If you were a poem, I’d be your rhymes.

  28. marinabarcenas Says:

    If you were a wink, I’de be a nod
    If you were a seed, well I’d be a pod
    If you were the floor, I’d wanna be the rug
    And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug
    If you were the wood, I’d be the fire
    If you were the love, I’d be the desire.
    If you were a castle, I’d be your moat,
    And if you were the ocean I’d learn to float.

    My favourite pair: And if you were a kiss, I know I’d be a hug


Deixa un comentari

