3.en.75 Advertising: the theory of fun

With Emili, you are analysing some ads and reflecting on  the messages of publicity campaigns.

Well, now that all of you are longing to have a POMAGRANATE phone, I’m afraid I have to dissapoint you and let you know  that this particular phone does not exist, at least not yet. The video you sway was part of a publicity campaign. It advertised something different, not the phone itself.

  • Do you know what viral publicity is?
  • What about  flash mobs?

They are concepts associated with the spread of new technologies, access to Internet, social networks, blogs and other phenomena specific to Internet such as You Tube. Run a search and tell me what you find. Emili can help you  too.

Here follow some examples of what viral publicity is.

  1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
  2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
  3. Have a look at this video and tell me if  you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ”  and how it works

Well, the experiment was part of  campaign of a publicity agency,  DDB Stockholm.  The campaign, was promoted by Volkswagen, aimed at promoting how changing lazy behaviour is not that difficult  and claimed that  discovering the fun side of acting responsibly can change people’s behaviour. Probably Volkswagen wanted to  associate its brand with  the idea of environmentally friendly cars.

  • Do you think it worked?

In this kind of publicity, the brand name, Wolkswagen is subtle, it just appears at the end of the video as VW logo.

  • Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
  • Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?

Well, this experiment took place in Stockholm too and this is what happened?

  • How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
  • How many people used the average containers?

Finally, the agency launched a contest to make people contribute to their fun theory with new ideas.

This was the idea that won the contest. Let’s see what you think about it. Have you got any bright ideas yourselves?

  • Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
  • How does the speed lottery work?

Homework: Post your answers and comment to the blog for Tuesday 22nd

Anuncis

24 Respostes to “3.en.75 Advertising: the theory of fun”

  1. ariadnabalufo Says:

    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    -Yes, I have.

    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    -Not always.

    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    -Yes, I understand it.

  2. ariadnabalufo Says:

    *How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    -It was used by nearly one hundred people.

    *How many people used the average containers?
    -The nearby conventional bottle bank was used twice.

  3. ariadnabalufo Says:

    * Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    -Yes, I think fun can change behaviour for the better

    * How does the speed lottery work?
    -They made a camera that measures the speed and it says if the speed is high or low.

  4. ariadnabalufo Says:

    * Do you know what viral publicity is?
    -I think is bad publicity.

    * What about flash mobs?
    – I don’t know

  5. miquelbv9 Says:

    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    -No I didn’t.

    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    -No, you can keep fit of doing other ways.

    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    There are persons thet wil change things bet they didn’t want that the change need to be a boring thing.

    4.How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    -Alot of people.

    5.How many people used the average containers?
    -Alot of people to.

    6. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    -Yes, becouse you are changing bet you are happy becouse at the same time you do a thing that you like.

    7. How does the speed lottery work?
    There is a camera thet tell to the conductor if he’s doing the thing Ok or if he didn’t.

    8.Do you know what viral publicity is?
    -Viral publicity is the publicity that one person saw that publicity, he like it and he say to her friend thet is fun the friend to the friend of the friend etc.

    9. What about flash mobs?
    -I dont cnow what a flash mob is.

  6. noesanzu Says:

    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    – Yes, many times.
    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    – I think yes.
    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    – Yes, I understand the idea.
    – There are many people that want to change things with a lot of fun.
    4. How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    – In one night, approximately one hundred people used the new bottle bank.
    5. How many people used the average containers?
    – They used the average containers twice.
    6. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    – I think yes, fun can change behaviour for the better.
    7. How does the speed lottery work?
    – The people who desobey the limit of speed have to pay in to a pot and the people who obey the speed limit, receive the money of the people that pay.
    8. Do you think it worked?
    – Yes, I thing it worked very much.
    9. Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    – No.
    10. Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    – Yes, I recycle bottles always.
    – I think no, sorry.

  7. ariadnabalufo Says:

    9. Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    – No, I can’t.

    10. Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    – Yes, I recycle bottles always.
    – No, I can’t

  8. marinaescarpa11 Says:

    1-Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    *Yes, many times.
    2- Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    * I think yes.
    3- Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    * Yes, I understand the idea.
    *There are many people that want to change things with a lot of fun.
    4- How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    * In one night, approximately one hundred people used the new bottle bank.
    5- How many people used the average containers?
    * They used the average containers twice.
    6- Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    *I think yes, fun can change behaviour for the better.
    7- How does the speed lottery work?
    * The people who desobey the limit of speed have to pay in to a pot and the people who obey the speed limit, receive the money of the people that pay.
    8- Do you think it worked?
    * Yes, I thing it worked very much.
    9- Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    * No.
    10- Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    * Yes, I recycle bottles always.
    *I think no, sorry.

  9. martitaserra28 Says:

    1-Do you know what viral publicity is?
    Yes, I do.
    2-What about flash mobs?
    I don’t know what is.
    3-Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    Yes, I have.
    4-Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    I think that yes.
    5-Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    Yes, I understand.
    6-How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    I think that approximately one hundred of people.
    7-How many people used the average containers?
    The used twice.
    8-Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    Yes, I do.
    9-How does the speed lottery work?
    The speed lottery measures the velocity of the cars. If the car exceeds 30 Km the speed lottery put a fine.
    10-Do you think it worked?
    Yes, I do.
    11-Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    No, I can’t.
    12-Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    Yes, I always recycle bottles.
    No, I can’t.

  10. sergiomr226 Says:

    Do you know what viral publicity is?
    – Yes, I knows what viral publicity is.

    What about flash mobs?
    – I don’t know what is flash mobs. María can you speak with aur group please?

    1. Have you ever tought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    – Yes, I have ever tought of going up the stairs if there is a lift.

    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    – No.

    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works
    – Yes, I understand the idea with the video.

    Do you think it worked?
    – Yes, I think it worked.

    Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    – Maybe, but now I am not remember.

    Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    – Yes, I recycle bottles.
    – Yes, I think of a way to make it fun.

    How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    – A lot of people used the new bottle bank in one night.
    Maybe, approximality one hundred.

    How many people used the average containers?
    – I think maybe two hundred ore more.

    Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    – Mayge yes, but I am not very insurences (seguro)

    How does the speed lottery work?
    – There are a camera that tell to the conductor if he is doing the thing ok or if he don’t.

  11. margaabauza Says:

    1)Do you know what viral publicity is?
    Yes, I do
    2)What about flash mobs?
    I don’t know what is
    3)Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    Yes, I have
    4)Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    I think Yes
    5)Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    Yes, I understand
    6)How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    Approximately one hundred of people
    7)How many people used the average containers?
    The used twice
    8)Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    Yes, I do
    9)How does the speed lottery work?
    The speed lottery measures the velocity of the cars. If the car exceeds 30 Km put a fine.
    10)Do you think it worked?
    Yes, I do
    11)Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    No, I can’t
    12)Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    Yes, I recycle bottles
    I don’t know

  12. paulinguigs Says:

    Do you know what viral publicity is? Yes, I do.
    What about flash mobs? Yes, I do too.
    Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift? Yes, I have.
    Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift? Yes, baucause you can do more exercise.
    Do you think it worked? Yes, I did.
    Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot? Yes, like Mixta and Carrefour.
    Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun? Yes, I recycle bottles. No, I can’t.
    How many people used the new bottle bank in one night? Nearly one hundred people.
    How many people used the average containers? I think two people.
    Have you got any bright ideas yourselves? No, I haven’t.
    Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better? Yes, we can recycle more.
    How does the speed lottery work? There is a camera and it looks the people and it recognizes the people to reduce speed.

  13. silviamartinm Says:

    * Do you know what viral publicity is?
    Yes, I do
    * What about flash mobs?
    I don’t kno what it is.
    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    No,I haven’t
    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    I think no.
    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    Yes I understand.
    4.How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    Nearly a hundred people.
    5.How many people used the average containers?
    They used twice.
    6.Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    Yes, I do
    7. How does the speed lottery work?
    They made a camera that measures the speed.
    8. Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    No I can’t.
    10. Do you recycle bottles?
    Yes, I do.
    11.Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    No I can’t.

  14. vladis890 Says:

    Do you know what viral publicity is?
    -Yes, I do. The viral publicity is a publicity that spreads very quickly, how a virus.
    What about flash mobs?
    -I don’t know what flash mobs means.
    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    -Yes, I do.
    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    -Yes, it is.
    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works
    -Yes, I understand the theory. The theory is the fun can change the behaviour of the people.
    4. Do you think it worked?
    -Yes, I think it worked.
    5. Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    -No, I can’t.
    6. Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    -Yes, sometimes I recycle bottles.
    -No, I can’t think a way to make it fun.
    7. How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    -I think about one hundret people used the bottle bank.
    8. How many people used the average containers?
    -The people use twice the average containers.
    9. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    -Yes, I think fun can change behaviour for better.
    10. How does the speed lottery work?
    -They watch for the drivers who respect the rules of speed, and they have a prize, and who doesn’t respect the rules, has a mulct.

  15. jhazminmarmol Says:

    * Do you know what viral publicity is?
    -Yes, I do.
    *What about flash mobs?
    -I don´t know what is it.
    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    -Yes, I have.
    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    -I think yes.
    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    -Yes, I understand the idea.
    4. Do you think it worked?
    -Yes, I think it worked.
    5. Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    -I haven´t any idea.
    6.Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    -Yes, I do.
    7. How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    -Approximately one hundred people used the new bottle bank.
    8. How many people used the average containers?
    -They used twice.
    9. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    -Yes, I do.
    10. How does the speed lottery work?
    -The camera take a photo of the car who disobey the limit of speed have to pay and the people that respect the speed receive the money of the people that pay.

  16. jospomar Says:

    Do you know what viral publicity is?
    Yes i know.
    * What about flash mobs?
    I don’t know what are flash mobs.
    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    Yes.
    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    Yes is a good reason.
    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    Yes i understand.
    4.How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    More or less one houndred people.
    5.How many people used the average containers?
    They used twice.
    6.Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    Yes, I think.
    7. How does the speed lottery work?
    It measures the speed and you pay if you go faster and they do a lottery for the persons that do it good.
    8. Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    No I can’t.
    10. Do you recycle bottles?
    Yes I do.
    11.Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    No i can’t.

  17. merysantos1998 Says:

    Do you know what viral publicity is? Yes, I know.
    What about flash mobs? I don’t what’s that.
    1·Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift? Yes, I have.
    2·Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift? Why not?
    3·Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift? Yes, I understand this “fun idea”

    Do you think it worked? Yes, I do.
    Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot? No, I can’t.
    Do you recycle bottles? Yes, I do
    Can you think of a way to make it fun? No, I can’t.
    How many people used the new bottle bank in one night? More than one hundred people.
    How many people used the average containers? They used twice.
    Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better? Yes, I do.
    How does the speed lottery work? It measures the speed and you pay if you go faster than the limit and they do a lottery for the persons that drives correctly.

  18. paucampomar Says:

    1-)Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    -Yes
    2-)Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    -No
    3-)Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it
    works.
    -Yes
    4-)Do you think it worked?
    -Yes
    5-)Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    -No
    6-)Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    Yes, I recycle bottles but not how to make it fun
    7-)How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    In a round the world very much
    8-)How many people used the average containers?
    -They used twice
    9-)Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    -Yes

  19. Joan Sebastià Says:

    1.-Yes
    2.-I think yes
    3.-Yes
    4.-yes
    5.-No, I, haven’t any idea
    6.-Yes, I recycle bottles but not how to make it fun
    7.-I think all the people who pass over the game
    8.-They used twice.
    9.-Yes

  20. vidalsiquierj Says:

    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    -Yes, of course.

    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    -Whel, if you have to go upstairs about 7 plants about 3 times in a day and you have to do it every day yes.

    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    -Yes, I understand the idea because now some people don’t continue going up stairs with the lift and keep fit.

    4.How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    -I think about 20 persons.

    5.How many people used the average containers?

    6. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    -Yes, of course because you remember best the thinks that are funny.

    7. How does the speed lottery work?
    There is a camera to take a photo of the car and then it mark the speed, if you go slowly, you can recive a present.

    8.Do you know what viral publicity is?
    -A publicity that you like and you remember so much.

    9. What about flash mobs?
    -I don’t know what are flash mobs.

  21. vidalandreu98 Says:

    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    Yes, but I didn’t go for the stairs. I went always by the lift.
    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    Yes, but is tired too.
    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    A company put some funny things that are bored and not interestig.
    4.How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    Three guys used the bottle bank in one night
    5.How many people used the average containers?
    Any person do it.
    6. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    Yes, the fun can with all.
    7. How does the speed lottery work?
    It takes the velocity of the vehicles.
    8.Do you know what viral publicity is?
    A publicity that you like and you remember so much.
    9. What about flash mobs?
    I don’t know this word. What is?

  22. alvaroalemany Says:

    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    – Yes, many times, when there is a lift I going to the stairs.
    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    – Yes, is a good enough
    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works
    Do you think it worked?
    – Yes, I understand this teoty of fun, the 66% of the people go up stairs becaus is funny, but the problem is, when the stairs were not, no body go with the stairs is pity.
    4. Can you think of any other campaigns where the brand name or the product being advertised is also difficult to spot?
    – No.
    5. Do you recycle bottles? Can you think of a way to make it fun?
    – Yes, I recycle all. Yes, for exemple a game.
    6. How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    – In one night one hundred people use this game.
    7. How many people used the average containers?
    – They use twice.
    8. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    – Yes.
    9. How does the speed lottery work?
    – When you go slowly and correctly you automatically you go to a lottery and you win something, is very good.

  23. pausegui Says:

    1. Have you ever thought of going up the stairs if there is a lift?
    -No I didn’t.

    2. Keeping fit is a good enough reason for not taking the lift?
    -No, you can keep fit of doing other ways.

    3. Have a look at this video and tell me if you understand the idea of “the theory of fun ” and how it works.
    There are persons thet wil change things bet they didn’t want that the change need to be a boring thing.

    4.How many people used the new bottle bank in one night?
    -Alot of people.

    5.How many people used the average containers?
    -Alot of people to.

    6. Do you think fun can change behaviour for the better?
    -Yes, becouse you are changing bet you are happy becouse at the same time you do a thing that you like.

    7. How does the speed lottery work?
    There is a camera thet tell to the conductor if he’s doing the thing Ok or if he didn’t.

    8.Do you know what viral publicity is?
    -Viral publicity is the publicity that one person saw that publicity, he like it and he say to her friend thet is fun the friend to the friend of the friend etc.

    9. What about flash mobs?
    -I dont cnow what a flash mob is.


Deixa un comentari

