2.en.65 On trees, leaves, plurals and virtual visits to Sóller Botanic Garden

On Monday February 21st you shall visit Sóller Botanic garden and learn lots of things about plants and trees. By now you should know that trees can be decidious or evergreen depending on whether they lose their leaves or not.

The plural of ” leaf” is “leaves”

similarly, the plural of “life” is “lives”; “knive” “knives”; “wife” “wives”

Here follow some  leaves. Match the leaf with its animation and look for the translation in Catalan and Spanish

a) beech b)maple c) oak, d) ash e)chestnut


2345

One of the evergreen trees that you will find in the botanic garden is the Quercus Ilex.  Read this information from Wikipedia

Quercus ilex, the Holm Oak or Holly Oak is a large evergreen oak native to the Mediterranean region. It takes its name from holm, an ancient name for holly.[1] It is known by the names azinheira in Portugueseencina in Spanishcarrasca or alzina in Catalančesvina in Croatianis-siġra tal-ballut in Malteseand chêne vert or yeuse in French. It is a member of the white oak section of the genus, with acorns that mature in a single summer.

In the Botanic Garden, plants and trees are organised in different terraces and sections. You can visit the Botanic garden web site and have a look at how the plants are organised. It is an exceelent web site and you can choose the language: Catalan, Spanish, English, German and French. After the outing, you can visit the garden on line, it is a way to revise what you will learn.

  • The M4 section corresponds to the Oak forest flora, there you will find 4 evergreen oaks, Quercus Ilex. Draw and/or take a pic of the tree and of one leave.
  • How many terraces did you visit? Go to the site and find out.
  • Which of the terraces did you like best?

Let’s finish the post with some musical leaves: leaves that are green and turn to brown. It’s a very old simple song. I hope you like it.

Leaves that are green , by Simon and Garfunkel

I was twenty-one years when I wrote this song.
I’m twenty-two now but I won’t be for long
Time hurries on.
And the leaves that are green turn to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

Once my heart was filled with the love of a girl.
I held her close, but she faded in the night
Like a poem I meant to write.
And the leaves that are green turn to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

I threw a pebble in a brook
And watched the ripples run away
And they never made a sound.
And the leaves that are green turned to brown,
And they wither with the wind,
And they crumble in your hand.

Hello, Hello, Hello, Hello,
Good-bye, Good-bye, Good-bye, Good-bye,
That’s all there is.

  1. Did you like the song?

 

Problem words: wither, crumble

Post your comments to the blog. for Wednesday 1st March

Anuncis

25 Respostes to “2.en.65 On trees, leaves, plurals and virtual visits to Sóller Botanic Garden”

  1. sergiomr226 Says:

    Did you like the song?
    – Yes, I liked the song.

  2. ritish7580 Says:

    Did you like the song?
    Yes, I liked it.

  3. marinaescarpa11 Says:

    -Did you like the song?
    *Yes, I liked the song.

  4. noesanzu Says:

    Did you like the song?
    – Yes, I like the song very much.

  5. margaabauza Says:

    Yes, I like very much.

  6. martitaserra28 Says:

    1-Did you like the song?
    Yes, I did.

  7. andreafr98 Says:

    1.- Yes , I like this song.

  8. psocies Says:

    1) Yes, I like.

  9. silviamartinm Says:

    1) Yes, I liked.

  10. jhazminmarmol Says:

    1) Yes, I like it very much.

  11. ariadnabalufo Says:

    1) Yes, I liked.

  12. merysantos1998 Says:

    Yes I liked

  13. vidalandreu98 Says:

    Did you like the song?
    Yes, a little bit.

  14. vidalsiquierj Says:

    -Did you like the song?
    -Yes, I like.

  15. jospomar Says:

    a) beech:2 Catalan:hagi Spanish:haya
    b)maple:1 Catalan:auró Spanish:arce
    c) oak:4 Catalan:roure Spanish:roble
    d) ash:5 Catalan:freixe Spanish:fresno
    e)chestnut:3 Catalan:castanyer Spanish:castaño

    Did you like the song?
    So, so

  16. vladis890 Says:

    Did you like the song?
    -Yes, I like the song.

  17. Joan Sebastià Says:

    Did you like the song?
    Yes, I like.

  18. pausegui Says:

    Did you like the song?
    -Yes I like

  19. miquelbv9 Says:

    1-Did you like the song?
    Yes, I like.

  20. paulinguigs Says:

    Did you like the song?
    Yes, I liked.

  21. izabelaigorova02 Says:

    1. Did you like the song?
    *Yes, I liked.

  22. alvaroalemany Says:

    1.- Did you like the song?
    – Yes, I like very much. Is very pretty

  23. sergiomr226 Says:

    1.- beech: hagi: haya.
    2.- maple: auró: arce.
    3.- oak: roure: roble.
    4.- ash: freixe: fresno.
    5.- chestnut: castanyer: castaño.

  24. psocies Says:

    Yes, I like.


Deixa un comentari

