2.en.48 Before watching a film, let’s think about things we can’t stand…

In our last lesson I told you that this term we will be watching a film “stand by me” that deals with relationships among families and groups of friends.


Stand, stood, stood; Stand by; Stand for; Stand out; I can’t stand.

You all know what the verb to stand means, don’t you?  But I bet you do not know many of the idiomatic expressions with stand. Today we’ll learn a few. To begin with , let’s start with the title of the film.” Stand by me”

Stand by = apoyar, respaldar

“Stand by me” has been translated as “Cuenta conmigo”, but it also could have been translated as “Apóyame”, “Respáldame”

The opposite Let someone down=  dejar en la estacada, fallar, no apoyar y dejar tirado a alguien.

Stand out = destacar, sobresalir

Stand for= defender, abogar

Stand for= significar, representar

  • Basketball players stand out in the crowd, they are usually so tall!
  • Stand for your rights, don’t let bullies frighten you.
  • What does UFO stand for?

There’s a very common expression with stand, “I can’t stand”= I strongly dislike, I hate

I’ll give you five  examples of somethings I cannot stand:

  1. I can’t stand bullies and violent people
  2. I can’t stand people who are whining all the time
  3. I can’t stand lying on the beach for hours
  4. I can’t stand Reggaeton
  5. I can’t stand crazy driving and the sound of motorbikes speeding up in the city

What about you?

Homework  Wednesday 18th: Write 5 things you can’t stand and post them to the blog.

Anuncis

38 Respostes to “2.en.48 Before watching a film, let’s think about things we can’t stand…”

  1. margaabauza Says:

    I can’t stand the fake people.
    I can’t stand getting up at half past six.
    I can’t stand the screams of people.
    I can’t stand have many homeworks.
    I can’t stand my sister.

  2. martitaserra28 Says:

    1-I can’t stand spiders.
    2-I can’t stand rude people.
    3-I can’t stand contamination.
    4-I can’t stand listening music that don’t like me.
    5-I can’t stand being late to places.

    • mloredo Says:

      I can’t stand listening to music I don’t like.
      Correct your answer, Marta
      Remember to write “to” after the verb “listen” “to” music.
      Check the mistake: Music I do not like.

    • martitaserra28 Says:

      4-I can’t stand to listen to music I do not like.

  3. silviamartinm Says:

    I can’t stand the spinach and mushrooms.
    I can’t stand people who think they are better than others.
    I can’t stand sand.
    I can’t stand television ads.
    I can’t stand up in the morning.

    • mloredo Says:

      do you mean you cna’t stand getting up in the morning?

      • mloredo Says:

        Marta, check: I can’t stand listening to music I don’t like.
        Correct your answer, Marta
        Remember to write “to” after the verb “listen” “to” music.
        Check the mistake: Music I do not like.

      • silviamartinm Says:

        Yes sorry.
        Ican’t stand getting up in the morning.

  4. izabelaigorova02 Says:

    I can’t stand false friends.
    I can’t stand very big places.
    I can’t stand liars.
    I can’t stand the horror movies.
    I can’ stand cockroach.

    • mloredo Says:

      Izabela,
      use plural forms. “I can’t stand cockroaches”. You must also check in a monolingual dictionary the meaning of “false friends”. If you do not find a good answer ask me. 🙂

  5. marinaescarpa11 Says:

    I can’t stand smoke person.
    I can’t stand spiders.
    I can’t stand people stealing.
    I can’t stand boring movies.
    I can’t stand Maths.

  6. marinaescarpa11 Says:

    I can’t people who smoke.

  7. paucampomar Says:

    I can’t stand my brother.
    I can’t stand classic music.
    I can’t stand sound of cars.
    I can’t stand homework.
    I can’t stand maths.

  8. ariadnabalufo Says:

    I can’t stand science class.
    I can’t stand celery.
    I can’t stand scary movies.
    I can’t stand spiders.
    I can’t stand rude people.

  9. noesanzu Says:

    1. I can’t stand people who smoke too.
    2. I can’t stand false people.
    3. I can’t stand many homework.
    4. I can’t stand the referee World Cup final.
    5. I can’t stand my brother.

  10. paulinguigs Says:

    1. I can’t stand lies.
    2. I can’t stand when my cat bites me.
    3. I can’t stand the fish.
    4. I can’t stand spiders.
    5. I can’t stand mosquitoes.

  11. jospomar Says:

    I can’t stand my dog snore
    I can’t stand spanish movies.
    I can’t stand eggplants.
    I can’t stand the kises in movies

  12. noesanzu Says:

    María, did we also have to do it in the notebook?

  13. sergiomr226 Says:

    1. I can’t stand the car.
    2. I can’t stand some children.
    3. I can’t stand some teachers.
    4. I can’t stand my horse some times.
    5. I can’t stand the computer.

  14. jhazminmarmol Says:

    I can’t stand the people who think better than others.
    I can’t stand the spiders.
    I can’t stand the vegetable puree.
    I can’t stand the red eyes.
    I can’t stand blood.

  15. merysantos1998 Says:

    I can’t stand people who laughs at others.
    I can’t stand people who smoke.
    I can’t stand the smoke.
    I can’t stand my little cousin.
    I can’t stand bear to be angry with a person.

  16. miquelbv9 Says:

    I can’t stand rude people.
    I can’t stand byes.
    I can’t stand the scares that my old brothe gave to my every day.
    I can’t stand my old brother.
    I can’t stand get up in the morning.

  17. vidalandreu98 Says:

    I can’t stand my brother.
    I can’t stand me.
    I can’t stand the smoke.
    I can’t stand Belen Esteban.
    I can’t stand a day without music.

  18. AlbaaSoriaa Says:

    1. I can’t stand fake people
    2. I can’t stand people who think they are superior
    3. I can’t stand that i scream
    4. I can’t stand make me do things
    5. I can’t stand buses

  19. vidalsiquierj Says:

    I can’t stand my twin brother.
    I can’t stand High School Musical films.
    I can’t stand Justin Bieber.
    I can’t stand David Bisbal.
    I can’t stand Dora the girl scout.

  20. vladis890 Says:

    1. I can’t stand the smoke.
    2. I can’t stand some people.
    3. I can’t stand the traffic.
    4. I can’t stand some of my neighbors.
    5. I can’t stand the humidity.

  21. ritish7580 Says:

    I can’t stand the violence.
    I can’t stand the rain sometimes.
    I can’t stand the people who lies.
    I can’t stand a film without action.
    I can’t stand a bully.

  22. alvaroalemany Says:

    1.- I can’t stand the smokers.
    2.- I can’t stand when a person interrupt me.
    3.- I can’t stand when a person waste the water.
    4.- I can’t stand animal abuses.
    5.- I can’t stand when a fly get into my plate.

  23. andreafr98 Says:

    1.- I can’t sntant the spiuders.
    2.- I can’t stant when a perdon shouting.
    3.- I can’t stant the disorder.
    4.- I can’t stant the maths.
    5.- I can’t stant the tests.

    • andreafr98 Says:

      1.- I can’t stand spiders.
      2.- I can’t stand when a person shouting.
      3.- I can’t stand disorder.
      4.- I can’t stand maths.
      5.- I can’t stand tests.

  24. Joan Sebastià Says:

    1.-I can’t stand the country music
    2.-I can’t stand the clowns
    3.-I can’t stand the exams
    4.-I can’t stand play a music
    5.-I can’t stand the bad computers

  25. pausegui Says:

    1.I can’t stand the school
    2.I can’t stand the handball
    3.I can’t stand the people who smoke
    4.I can’t stand the Real Madrid
    5.I can’t stand the Justin Bieber

  26. psocies Says:

    I can’t stand winter
    I can’t stand so many homework in the blog
    I can’t stand Maths
    I can’t stand geting up at 7:00 am
    I can’t stand lies


Deixa un comentari

